Top honors were awarded to students from four universities during the annual JUMP into STEM final competition hosted by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) on January 26-27, 2023. The winners were selected from eight teams that competed this year in person in Denver, CO.

Participants at the JUMP into STEM finals competition Jan. 26–27, 2023, at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory included students, professors, judges, national laboratory management, and the Department of Energy

Winning students were offered paid summer internships at one of three national laboratories: Oak Ridge National Laboratory, NREL, or Pacific Northwest National Laboratory.

The winners were announced by Nicholas Ryan, Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, Science, Technology, and Policy Fellow at the U.S. Department of Energy:

  • Vanderbilt University, Arielle Kopp, “Composite Beam Machine”
  • Purdue University, Andrew Fix, Dohyeon Kim, and Sarah Alkandari “MyHP+ A Personalized User-Friendly Heat Pump Economic Analysis Tool for Homeowners and Building Operators”
  • University of Nebraska, Anu Adeyemo, Danika Ratnapradipa, and Julia Ehlers, “The Fleet: Tiny Houses Repurposed in the Wake of Disaster”
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Parker Vice, Gabe Hoggard, and Zackery Trahan, “Eau-Tarp”

JUMP into STEM is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Building Technologies Office. Visit the Building Technologies Office website for more on energy-efficient building initiatives.