Ten students on teams from four universities were awarded top honors at the Department of Energy’s (DOE) Building Technologies Office (BTO) annual JUMP into STEM final competition hosted live at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) on January 26-27, 2023.

In the first live finals since the 2019-2020 competition, the winning teams were part of the largest competition to date, with students from schools across the country, including HBCUs, participating. Winning students were offered paid 10-week summer internships at one of three national laboratories.

The four winning teams and the names of their projects, announced by Nicholas Ryan, Science, Technology, and Policy Fellow at BTO:

  • Vanderbilt University – Arielle Kopp, “Composite Beam Machine​”
  • Purdue University – Andrew Fix, Dohyeon Kim, and Sarah Alkandari, “MyHP+: A Personalized User-Friendly Heat Pump Economic Analysis Tool for Homeowners and Building Operators”
  • University of Nebraska – Lincoln – Anu Adeyemo, Danika Ratnapradipa, and Julia Ehlers, “The Fleet: Tiny Houses Repurposed in the Wake of Disaster​”
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette — Parker Vice, Gabe Hoggard, and Zackery Trahan, “Eau-Tarp”

Read more at energy.gov