The Department of Energy’s (DOE) Building Technologies Office (BTO) announced the winners of the annual building technologies competition, JUMP into STEM, at the virtual finals hosted by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) January 28-29.

Four winning teams were announced by Mary Hubbard, BTO’s Technology-to-Market manager:

  • Clark Atlanta University’s Bria Frazier and Zoe Landers, “Triboelectric Floor Generator System”
  • Georgia Institute of Technology’s Sarah Canastra, “Load Shifting with Smart Water Heaters: Conservation without the Cold Showers”
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University’s Megan Bush, “Solar Powered Light Pipe with Integrated LED Lamps”
  • Syracuse University and SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry’s Trisha Gupta and Vedyun Mishra, “Enabling the Proliferation of Energy Auditing”

“We are so excited to see our young, passionate students engaging in science, technology, engineering and math,” BTO Director David Nemtzow said. “These are the experts of the next generation. Programs like JUMP into STEM keep BTO and DOE at the forefront of the effort to build a new American infrastructure and clean-energy economy.”